Insights? Observations? Would you know the diff?

18 Aug

Being in the business of insights, and being in the position where one is frequently offered an observation in place of an insight, by someone who vocally demands insights and wouldn’t recognise an insight if it bit them in the face, I found this email very instructive, after I finished laughing. I’d use it in a class on insights, as evidence that these are NOT insights.

” I know I am thoroughly Indian because:

1.When the shampoo bottle seems to be over, I pour some water in it, shake it, and use it for another couple of baths.
2.A toothpaste isn’t over until I’ve entirely flattened it out and started rolling it up from the back.
3.I buy broccoli and avocados for 300 Rupees, but still ask for some dhaniya patta for free.
4.I don’t just recycle gifts, I recycle the gift-wrapping paper too. 5. When a bulb gets fused we move it around trying to get the filament to join again
6.I worry about price of gold without any intention of buying it! 7.I will beat the crap out of my TV remote to make it work but not change the battery
8. I get cheesed off if the Gol Gappa guy doesn’t give a free sukha puri in the end when I ask for one.
9. When my T-shirt gets old, I use it as night wear, when it gets older, I play holi in it, then I use it as a pochha.
10. I ask for extra oregano and chili flakes from the Dominos delivery guy, so that I can use them later in my Maggi noodles at home.”

Leave a Reply

